Orange is the New Black

ORANGE

I like TV. Not like I like summer days or the smell of baking cookies. I mean, I’m IN like with TV (I wouldn’t say love because I fear commitment). I’m excited to experience new shows,watching new storylines unfold makes me happy, and when I find a show that has that perfect blend of brilliant writing, deep and honest character development, captivating actors and a fully developed vision, it makes me excitement pee a little.

800px-2008-08-21_White_German_Shepherd_portrait_1
He’s excited peeing right now. 

So far, I’ve tried to keep my blogs about newer-ish shows, the oldest being Jane the Virgin at the beginning of its third season.

800px-La_vierge_enceinte
Not so virginal anymore… 

However, since tomorrow is one of my favorite days of the year, the premier of the newest season of Orange is the New Black, I’m making an exception.

Santa-eop2
Whoa big guy, wrong day. Back to hibernation for you, see you around Halloween. 

You guys. Have you even seen this show yet? If not, go do it now. I mean, let me finish, but then go! This show is the greatest (except for Piper, no one likes Piper except Piper)!

OITNB_Taylor_Schilling_1
Ugggghhhhh….. 

I love how just about every character gets at least one episode to fully flesh out a back story. I love how there is no one that is just inherently evil, just characters that have been shaped by their circumstances. Like that phrase mom’s are fans of, they aren’t bad people, they just made bad decisions. Or several consecutive bad decisions in some cases. I’m a firm believer in getting to know people’s stories. Their traumas, their suffering, the things that made them who they are through their eyes. Once you do, it’s harder to hate them. This show does just that perfectly.

All of the characters have their irritating times because they’re human, but ultimately, we get to see what is redeeming about most of them eventually. Except Piper, who is never not annoying.

Orange-is-the-New-Black
Yep, still hate her… 

The show hooked me from the very beginning and I never looked back. The drama is addicting, the storylines are compelling the acting is gorgeous. In short, we hate Piper, we love everything else, we are definitely against privatization of the prison system, God bless America.

Author: thesarahbeck

I never know what to say about me. I'm female. I'm single. I like dogs and TV. Sometimes I write things and those things sound good.

Leave a Reply

