Power Rangers

My first memory of going to see a movie on the big screen was in summer of 1995 at 7 years old watching Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: The Movie. As a kid, the movie was amazing. I spent days after dressing up as the white ranger. Running around with kicking imaginary putty patrollers and rescuing Kim the pink ranger. Yes, I had a childhood crush on Kim.

et_power_rangers_032317_1280_ren640

I kept up fairly well with each new team until about maybe the 4th or 5th one. I got a little older and thought that they were getting a cheesier as time went by. It wasn’t until about 5 years ago when Netflix had all the original series on their list that I had sat down to watch a few for old-time sakes. Realizing that the original team were sort of cheesy, but to me it was still nostalgic.

Having said all that, coming into this new release of the Power Rangers, I was hesitant to think that it could be decent. Transformers took off with a fun film then gradually fell as each sequel came out. The Ninja Turtles movies were less than sub par. At least Michael Bay didn’t have his hands in the Power Rangers.

In case you’re unaware of the global phenomenon that became the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers. The story revolves around 5 teenagers who were chosen and gifted with extraordinary abilities to fight against those who threaten humanity. This movie gives us a sort of breakfast club feel by bringing together 5 completely different teens; the wayward jock, a rebel cheerleader, the autistic nerd, the runaway tough-guy, and pretty much a young Ally Sheedy who is shunned from her family because she’s “different”.

NEO6cisjP3QSRW_1_b

The 5 teens stumble upon a buried spaceship and come upon Bryan Cranston’s Zordon and his little robot Alpha 5 voiced by Bill Hader. Both actors give great voice work to their respective characters. Zordon and Alpha trains the new crew to fight against his old nemesis Rita Repulsa, played by Elizabeth Banks.

Each member of the Rangers gets their chance to shine. Dacre Montgomery, the leader and the red ranger, brings strength to the film overall story, but the heart lies in R.J. Cyler, the Blue Ranger. In some way, he is the “Samwise Gamgee” of the group.

Elizabeth Banks gives us an updated, far creepier Rita, especially as she begins to wreak havoc on the citizens of Angel Grove. However, she does take it a little further into borderline campy as we progress along the story. But far less campy than the cackling witch we all remember from the original series. And, if I’m not mistaken, I believe they never mentioned her last name, Repulsa. Which may be a good thing.

There were a few things that I wished had been worked on to make this a slightly better experience than what it was. One, I did mention about Banks over the top borderline cheesy villainy. Two, when the Rangers got their zords. I had no idea what it was the black ranger had. I know in the original series he had a mammoth, but here I couldn’t make out exactly what it was he rode, assuming it was a mammoth. Three, Krispy Kreme? Really? I’ll leave that alone for spoilers sake.

Overall, the film is quite fun. I quite enjoyed the fight scenes and the climatic battle. I’ve read mixed reviews with more leaning towards being negative. Which lowered my expectations and gave me a little fear that it will be as bad as Transformers. Alas, in my honest Noble opinion, I’d go see it. Use it as an excuse to be a kid again.

Author: Timothy Noble

Actor, movie buff, and living life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

