Before Kong: Skull Island

GZ-FP-010rIn preparation for Kong: Skull Island, I decided to rewatch Godzilla. You know, the American re-remake. I remember watching the teaser trailer for the first time. A group of soldiers jumped out of plane with red smoke trailing behind them as they freefell pass the massive lizard. You could not see much, but you saw enough to get excited. I thought, “Oh My God!”and I nearly shat myself. Not really, but I was a huge fan of the Godzilla movies, especially the Japanese classic. I grew up watching Godzilla, a man in a rubber suit, fighting various giant monsters. Mothra, Mechagodzilla, Rhodan, Ghidorah, etc. I loved it, despite how cheesy it was. Even the 1998 Godzilla, where the giant lizard attacked New York was decent fun for little 10-year-old me.

Flash forward 16 years, my wife and I saw the new Godzilla on opening weekend. Once the ending credits rolled, I found myself greatly disappointed. Sure I had huge expectations. It’s freaking Godzilla! And Bryan Cranston was in it, how much better could it have been? Then… *Spoiler Alert!* come to find out, they killed him off early in the movie. Thus giving us a bunch of other human characters that nobody really cares about. We just want to see the big greenish lizard, which took nearly an hour and half to get to? Did Gareth Edwards take a lesson from Peter Jackson’s King Kong? The whole Godzilla movie, we kept getting teasers of the Lizard fighting MUTOs but never actually seeing them fight until about an hour and 45 minutes into the movie. Then we get a pretty sweet but very short battle between the 2 huge monsters. For a movie about Godzilla, they only gave him 8 minutes of screen time in a 2 hour-long movie. Absolutely, the final climatic battle was amazing. When Godzilla’s spikes glowed blue, I geeked out. However, I still left the theater with a great deal of disappointment.

Upon the release of Godzilla in 2014, it was announced that Godzilla was part of a “shared universe”(think Marvel), where he will square off with non other than King Kong. First Kong will get his own movie then we will get a Godzilla vs Kong. Flash forward to almost 3 years where Kong: Skull Island will be released in theaters in just 3 days. The trailers look very promising and the reviews from critics who were able to see an early screening remain pretty positive. Two main things that I have gathered from the trailers; one, rather than rehash the same old 1930s America discovering a mysterious island, it looks we are brought to the 70s. The look has a very strong Apocalypse Now feel to it. Two, Kong has been given ample screen time.

Kong-Skull-island-700x300

The stakes are pretty high for Kong. We’ll see how well he fares in his new film this weekend. Starring Nick Fury, Loki, the future Captain Marvel, and Corpsman Dey.

Author: Timothy Noble

Actor, movie buff, and living life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

