Star Trek Beyond

I have never been a true trekkie though I have always appreciated the influence Star Trek has and I have always respected the fandom behind it all. It wasn’t until J.J. Abrams took over and gave it a massive kick by not necessarily rebooting it but bringing back the original crew within a parallel universe. I believe they called it the Kelvin universe.

I watched the original Star Trek movie a few months ago for the first time because it was on Netflix and I had realized that even though I’ve been pretty caught up with all the films, I couldn’t remember anything about it. Maybe I have seen it. I just do not remember it. Anyways, what I can tell you now is that the original Star Trek is incredibly boring. Sorry trekkies, but the ship docking scene took way too long. I’m pretty sure I could have gotten up and used the restroom, washed my hands, gone to the kitchen, open the fridge, grab me a beer, and sat back down on the couch before the damn ship docked into the station. However, the movies do get better over time. And with the new movies, I’m definitely a fan.

Now, after kicking off two very successful and critically acclaimed Star Trek films, JJ Abrams passed on the directing chair to Justin Lin. Lin is known for taking the Fast and Furious franchise to the insanity that it is now after directing the fourth and producing the following two. And since Abrams (he still helped produce) moved on to Star Wars, Lin with the help of a great script written by Simon Pegg (Scotty) and a couple of others brings back the feel of what separated Star Trek from the other space adventure franchise. Actual space exploration.

It’s almost funny how the shift has gone from the first two to Beyond. Not that the two were bad, they were certainly fun and great films. Beyond actually feels like Star Trek. While the first two kept the USS Enterprise within Earth’s orbit, Beyond takes them… well… beyond. We meet new alien civilizations and alien threats while still keeping to the summer blockbuster rhythm that Abrams has given to the franchise.

Also, what makes Star Trek different is the purpose of unity in diversity. Every character is vastly different and yet they serve the needs of the crew. It’s something really hard to explain. Yes, Star Wars and other space opera films have their diversity. Star Trek was built on it. Case in point, the dynamics of Kirk and Spock and how each of them complete one another.

The cast is incredibly fun to watch as they nail their counterparts to the key. I especially like the new villain Krall played by the stellar Idris Elba. His voice and the way he carried himself makes me want to dive deeper into character acting. Also, the addition of Jaylah is a welcome sight as she helps the crew battle for their ship and their lives.

In my honest Noble opinion, Star Trek Beyond is a perfect summer blockbuster film. I could go on about all the characters and highlight my favorite thing about them, but I have neither the time nor the desire to type it out. Just go see it. You’ll love it.

RIP Anton and Leonard Nemoy

Featured image courtesy of Skydance Media and Bad Robot Productions

Author: Timothy Noble

Actor, movie buff, and living life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

