High-Rise

Circulating the film circuit last year, High Rise gained a bit of recognition with critics, though mostly fair. After picking up distribution, High Rise is released to limited release. Tom Hiddleston is a fantastic actor and plays an interesting lead of a man who becomes a new resident of a tower block, which descends to chaos. However, as enticing the characters may be and despite how well shot the movie is cinematically, I’ve found myself often confused on the direction of the narrative, and by the end I found myself a little frustrated.  It’s a hard film to watch, and I’m not sure how many would grab the concept of what is trying to be conveyed. Seemed like it’s trying to be too artsy than to tell the story. Maybe it’s an acquired taste, but in my noble opinion, I’d give it a pass if your theater happens to be showing it. Unless you prefer style over substance.

Author: Timothy Noble

Actor, movie buff, and living life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

